Tags

I had a rostered day off today.

I’m not in paid employment and many would say that I don’t work. In fact if people ask me if I work, I always answer no.

I’m a stay at home mum.

Like most people who love what they do, I think have one of the best jobs in the world. Like most people, I have days when I wish I was doing something completely different.

This week though, I hit my wall. The wall that says, stop and take a little care of yourself.

Hubby could see it in my eyes, probably hear it in my voice. Everything was just getting a little too much and so today, I left home at 11am for a day out.

I’ve spent this first glorious day of Spring on a lovely drive to Bendigo, lunching and having coffee with my mum and strolling through the magnificent Bendigo Art Gallery. I even managed to give dad a hug for fathers day tomorrow.

I took just one photo all day – as the day was mine and just about being quite and observing, not doing. A photo that captures Spring none-the-less. No clouds and beautiful flowers.IMAG0322

When I first got to Bendigo I was having a cuppa and catching up with mum and dad. Enjoying uninterrupted adult conversation in the sunshine, quite an anomaly when you live with three small children.

Dad and I were talking about being tired and Dad made the comment “I don’t know what it is but sometimes you just hit lows of lows”.

He’s right. You have good days, bad days, exceptional days and days when your body can’t go on. It’s a part of life. Every single person faces the same over their lifetime.

Eight hours I had to myself today, it was bliss. I left the washing, the sewing, the housework, the paperwork and I looked after me.

It would be nice if you knew when you were going to be feeling down, but it tends to sneak up on you when you least expect it.

The key is realising that you need the time out and acting on it. You don’t help anyone by soldiering on.

Wishing you all a relaxing weekend and enjoyable start to Spring.

