Tags

,

If I find a new craft/hobby that I’m good at, I tend to go a little crazy.

My latest craze of knitting is no exception.

A few years ago I bought myself a little book, Learn to Knit: with 56 projects by Panda. It is fabulous, really easy to understand and as you can guess….I learnt to knit.adult and baby beanie

One minor problem. I was living in Perth. One of the most idyllic places on earth with near perfect weather. Not much good to those of us who are wanting to knit nice cosy things.

Fast forward 2.5 years and I’m sitting with idle hands in the lounge room of our first ever home with the log fire glowing. What to do? Knit, knit and knit some more.

Now I am certainly no expert, but I can tell you that I have ventured out of the beginner book and have my first ever “real” projects on the go – but given my pace (or lack thereof) you will not be seeing these till next year I’m guessing.

Girls and their beanies

Unfortunately due to copyright infringements I can’t provide the original pattern of these beanies for you. What I would love to share are my variations on the pattern.

The original pattern is intended for children and has a folded cuff around the base of the beanie (as per the girls above). This looks good on the girls, with an added flower (crocheted) for a bit of bling but it wasn’t going to be suitable for hubby, baby and I.crochet flower with button

So I adjusted the length to remove the cuff and adjusted how many stitches depending on if I was knitting the beanie for myself, hubby or bubs.

With Maggie’s beanie below. I used two strands of wool and knitted them together just like I was knitting with one. It sounds complicated but was actually just as easy as knitting with one strand of wool and it created a much thicker and tighter looking beanie – even though it was on the same needles. A great result for little heads.maggie with beanie

On the beanies with no cuff, I added a row of single crochet into the first row of knitting around the rim – on the inside of the beanie. You can’t see the crocheted line, it is purely for comfort. The row of crochet creates a tight loop which stops the beanie “popping” off your head.

Hubby is a mad Sydney Swans (AFL) supporter and so his request was for a red and white striped beanie. I had never knitted stripes before, but armed with my beginner book it was surprisingly easy.swans beanie

In summation, if you are learning to knit, try and get a hold of this book for the pattern and give it a go. It really is very easy and very very satisfying to finish a beanie.

And if you’re out and about in the Victorian country side this winter and come across a crazy beanie clad family, be sure to come and say hello.

Happy knitting everyone.

