How nice is it to catch up with your friends. I love it. Don’t get me wrong, I love meeting new people too, but how relaxing and comforting is it to catch up with people who know you. Sometimes better than you know yourself.

Our friends Tam and Paul are having a baby. It is their second little miracle. They already have a beautiful little girl, Leni.

On Sunday, a few of us girls got together to have a baby shower. Now I use this term loosely. We aren’t big on all the bells and whistles of the traditional baby shower. It was really an excuse to all catch up and wish our friend the best for her impending birth. Of course we had a glass of wine (or 2) while the pregnant lady looked on, good conversation, a delicious lunch and enjoyed the very unusual sunny Melbourne day.

When it comes to baby showers, I always struggle with the gift. As the mother of 3, I thought, what would I like? And I remembered, someone gave a present to me, when I had a baby. That’s right, for me and not my baby. It left me feeling so many things, noticed, lovely, proud and loved. After all, it is a very under-appreciated job.

So for my friend Tam, I wrapped up one of my handmade candles. See here for the instructions.

I jazzed it up a bit with some ribbon, a gift tag and little wooden flower and ta da. A gift for the mum to be.

I believe that people often underestimate how a gift given from the heart can make someone feel.

You don’t need to spend a lot of money. It doesn’t have to be perfect. The knowledge that someone loves you enough to put in the time and effort is special enough.

Our very best wishes to Tam, Paul and Leni, we can’t wait to hear your wonderful news x

And thank you to my wonderful friends for yet another fabulous afternoon x

